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	1st copy - Defendant (with instructions)
	3rd copy - Return (with proof of service)

	STATE OF MICHIGAN
	AFFIDAVIT AND CLAIM

Small claims
	CASE NO.

	     
	JUDICIAL DISTRICT
	
	
	     

	
	
	

	Court address
	Court telephone  no.

	     
	     

	See additional notice and instructions on the back of plaintiff and defendant copies.

	1.
	     
	
	NOTICE OF HEARING

	
	Plaintiff
	
	For Court Use Only

	
	     
	
	
	The plaintiff and the defendant must be in court on

	
	Address
	
	
	     
	
	     
	

	
	     
	     
	
	
	Day
	
	Date
	

	
	City, state, zip
	Telephone no.
	
	
	at
	     
	at      FORMCHECKBOX 
 the court address above.
	

	2.
	     
	
	
	
	Time
	
	

	
	Defendant
	
	
	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	     
	.
	

	
	     
	
	
	
	Location
	

	
	Address
	
	
	     
	Fee paid: $
	     
	

	
	     
	     
	
	
	Process server's name
	
	

	
	City, state, zip
	Telephone no.
	
	

	
	

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	3.
	A civil action between these parties or other parties arising out of the transaction or occurrence alleged in this complaint

	
	
	has been previously filed in
	 FORMCHECKBOX 
 this court
	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	
	Court.

	
	
	It was given case number
	     
	and assigned to Judge
	     
	.

	
	
	The action      FORMCHECKBOX 
 remains       FORMCHECKBOX 
 is no longer         pending.

	
	

	4.
	I have knowledge or belief about all the facts stated in this affidavit and I am

	
	 FORMCHECKBOX 
 the plaintiff or his/her guardian, conservator, or next friend.
	 FORMCHECKBOX 
 a partner.
	 FORMCHECKBOX 
 a full-time employee of the plaintiff.

	

	5.
	The plaintiff is
	 FORMCHECKBOX 
 an individual.
	 FORMCHECKBOX 
 a partnership.
	 FORMCHECKBOX 
 a corporation.
	 FORMCHECKBOX 
 a sole proprietor.
	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	     

	
	Other

	6.
	The defendant is
	 FORMCHECKBOX 
 an individual.
	 FORMCHECKBOX 
 a partnership.
	 FORMCHECKBOX 
 a corporation.
	 FORMCHECKBOX 
 a sole proprietor.
	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	     

	
	Other

	7.
	The date(s) the claim arose are
	     
	.

	
	Attach separate sheets if necessary

	8.
	Amount of money claimed is  $
	     
	.
	(NOTE:  Plaintiff’s costs are determined by the court and awarded as

appropriate.  They are not part of the amount claimed.)

	
	
	

	9.
	The reasons for the claim is/are
	     

	
	     

	
	     

	
	

	10.
	The plaintiff understands and accepts that the claim is limited to $6,000 by law and that the plaintiff gives up the rights to

	
	(a) recover more than this limit,  (b) an attorney, (c) a jury trial, and (d) appeal the judge's decision.

	
	

	11.
	I believe the defendant   FORMCHECKBOX 
 is    FORMCHECKBOX 
 is not      mentally competent.  I believe the defendant     FORMCHECKBOX 
 is     FORMCHECKBOX 
 is not     18 years or older.

	
	

	12.
	 FORMCHECKBOX 
 I do not know whether the defendant is in the military service.    FORMCHECKBOX 
 The defendant is not in the military service.

	
	 FORMCHECKBOX 
 The defendant is in the military service.

	
	

	
	
	/s/     

	
	
	Signature       

	Subscribed and sworn to before me on
	     
	,
	     
	County, Michigan.

	

	My commission expires:
	     
	Signature:
	

	
	Date
	
	Deputy clerk/Notary public       

	Notary public, State of Michigan, County of
	     
	

	

	The defendant(s) must be served by
	     
	.

	
	Expiration date

	

	DC 84  (12/17)   AFFIDAVIT AND CLAIM, Small Claims
	MCL 600.8401 et seq., MCR 4.302, MCR 4.303, 50 USC App 521

	
	AFFIDAVIT AND CLAIM

	
	Small Claims

	
	
	Case No.
	     

	
	PROOF OF SERVICE
	

	

	TO PROCESS SERVER: You are to serve this affidavit and claim no later than 7 days before the hearing date.  You must make and

	file your return with the court clerk.  If you are unable to complete service, you must return this original and all copies to the court 

	clerk.

	

	
	CERTIFICATE / AFFIDAVIT OF SERVICE / NONSERVICE
	

	

	 FORMCHECKBOX 
  OFFICER CERTIFICATE
	OR
	 FORMCHECKBOX 
  AFFIDAVIT OF PROCESS SERVER

	 I certify that I am a sheriff, deputy sheriff, bailiff, 
	
	 Being first duly sworn, I state that I am a legally competent

	 or appointed court officer (MCR 2.104[A][2]), 
	
	 adult who is not a party or an officer of a corporate party, and

	 and that:    (notarization not required)

	
	 that:    (notarization required)

	
	

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	I served personally a copy of the affidavit and claim,

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	I served by registered or certified mail (copy of return receipt attached) a copy of the affidavit and claim,

	
	

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	together with
	     
	, on the defendant(s):

	
	
	Attachment

	
	Defendant name
	Complete address of service
	Day, date, time 

	
	     
	     
	     

	
	
	
	

	
	Defendant name
	Complete address of service
	Day, date, time 

	
	     
	     
	     

	
	
	
	

	
	Defendant name
	Complete address of service
	Day, date, time 

	
	     
	     
	     

	
	
	
	

	

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	I have personally attempted to serve the affidavit and claim, together with any attachments on the following defendant(s) and

	
	have been unable to complete service.

	

	
	Defendant name
	Complete address of service
	Day, date, time 

	
	     
	     
	     

	
	
	
	

	
	Defendant name
	Complete address of service
	Day, date, time 

	
	     
	     
	     

	
	
	
	

	
	Defendant name
	Complete address of service
	Day, date, time 

	
	     
	     
	     

	
	
	
	

	I declare that the statements above are true to the best of my information, knowledge, and belief.


	Service fee
	Miles traveled
	Fee
	
	Signature 

	$
	     
	     
	$     
	
	     

	Incorrect address fee
	Miles traveled
	Fee
	TOTAL FEE
	
	Name (type or print)

	$     
	     
	$     
	$     
	
	     

	
	Title

	Subscribed and sworn to before me on
	     
	,
	     
	County, Michigan.

	
	Date

	My commission expires:
	     
	Signature:
	

	
	Date
	
	Deputy court clerk/Notary public       

	Notary public, State of Michigan, County of
	     
	

	

	
	ACKNOWLEDGMENT OF SERVICE
	

	

	I acknowledge that I have received service of the affidavit and claim, together with
	     

	
	Attachment

	     
	on
	     

	
	Day, date, time

	
	on behalf of
	     

	Signature
	

	MCR 2.105

	ADDITIONAL NOTICE AND INSTRUCTIONS

	     

	

	TO BOTH THE PLAINTIFF AND DEFENDANT:

	

	(
	You must bring to the hearing all witnesses, books, papers, and other physical evidence needed to prove or disprove this claim.

	
	

	(
	Before the trial (hearing) starts, you have the right to

	
	

	
	1.
	remove the case to the general civil division of the district court, or

	
	
	

	
	2.
	have the case heard by a district court judge (if the hearing is scheduled before an attorney magistrate).  If the case is

	
	
	heard by an attorney magistrate, you may appeal to the district judge within 7 days after the trial.

	
	

	(
	If the case is tried in the small claims division, you give up the right to an attorney, to a jury trial, and to appeal the judge’s

	
	decision.

	
	

	If you require special accommodations to use the court because of a disability or if you require a foreign language interpreter to 

help you fully participate in court proceedings, please contact the court immediately to make arrangements.

	

	

	

	TO THE DEFENDANT:

	

	(
	The affidavit and claim you have just received means you are being sued in the small claims division of the district court.

	
	

	(
	The court is being asked to decide a matter that the plaintiff says is your obligation and responsibility.

	
	

	(
	If you wish to deny this claim or arrange terms of payment, you must make your request by appearing at the date, time, and

	
	place stated in the notice of hearing on the front of this form.

	
	

	(
	If you do not appear at the date, time, and place stated, a default judgment may be entered against you for the amount stated

	
	in item 8, including the costs of this action.

	
	

	(
	If the dispute is settled before or at the hearing, you may have to pay the plaintiff's costs.

	
	

	(
	In case a judgment is entered against you at the hearing, you should be prepared to pay the amount stated in item 8,

	
	including the costs of this action, or to make arrangements for installment payments.

	
	

	
	

	
	

	
	

	
	

	
	

	
	

	
	

	
	

	
	

	
	

	
	

	
	

	
	

	
	

	
	

	
	

	
	

	
	

	
	

	
	

	
	

	     

	

	

	

	

	

	

	

	HOW TO GET A MONEY JUDGMENT

	IN SMALL CLAIMS COURT

	

	

	Form DC 84

	

	

	AFFIDAVIT AND CLAIM,

	SMALL CLAIMS

	

	

	

	Use this form if you want to bring a lawsuit against someone who owes you money or who has caused

	damage to your property or possessions and you cannot resolve the dispute through mediation or other

	means.  If your damage is the result of an intentional wrongdoing, such as fraud, libel, slander, malicious

	destruction of property, or assault and battery, you cannot bring your action in the small claims division 

	of the district court unless the wrongdoing is for a dishonored check, consumer protection violation, or 

	recreational trespass.

	

	

	You cannot use the small claims division of the district court if:

	
	1) your case is against the State of Michigan or a state agency,

	
	2) your case is against a local governmental until that involves issues of governmental immunity,

	
	3) you are an assignee or third-party beneficiary of the obligation, or

	
	4) you have filed more than five small claims cases in the same week.

	

	

	The maximum you can collect through a judgment in the small claims division of the district court is $6,000. 

	If your claim is for more than $6,000, you can still use the small claims division but your judgment award

	cannot exceed $6,000 and you permanently waive the right to collect the rest of your claim.


