Otsego County Courts


The Otsego County Judicial System is comprised of three different constitutional or statutory courts. These courts are the 46th Circuit Court, the 87-A District Court and the Otsego County Probate Court.

With the approval from the Michigan Supreme Court, all of the elected judges serving Otsego County entered into an agreement called a Concurrent Jurisdiction Plan, whereby the entire judicial system operates as a unified trial court within Otsego County. This merged court system results in a more efficient use of judges and court personnel, simplifies case handling, reduces repetition, provides for better service to the citizens in Otsego County, continues to curtail the rising costs of the judicial system where practical, and results in a reduction of receivables due the court.

One court administrator is appointed to assist the three chief judges with all administrative matters of the judicial system. Court policies, procedures and rules are governed by one of the following authorities: Federal and Michigan Constitutions, Federal or Michigan Statutes, Michigan Court Rules, Michigan Supreme Court Administrative Orders, directives from the State Court Administrator’s Office, directives from state regulatory agencies, or local directives from the Chief Judges.

Additional information about the Otsego County Judicial System is available on the web at Circuit 46.

Circuit Court Clerk
225 W. Main Street
Gaylord, Michigan 49735
Phone: 989-731-7504

 46th Circuit Court Scheduling Clerk
For: Hon. George J. Mertz
225 W. Main St.
Gaylord, Michigan 49735
Phone: 989-731-0224 

For: Hon. Colin G. Hunter
200 W. Michigan Ave.
Grayling, MI 49738

87-A District Court
800 Livingston Blvd., Suite 1-C
Gaylord, Michigan 49735
Phone: 989-731-0201
Otsego County Probate Court
800 Livingston Blvd., Suite 1-C
Gaylord, Michigan 49735
Phone: 989-731-0204
46th Circuit Court – Juvenile Division
800 Livingston Blvd., Suite 1-C
Gaylord, Michigan 49735
Phone: 989-731-0214
Friend of the Court
800 Livingston Blvd., Suite 1-A
Gaylord, Michigan 49735
Phone: 989-731-7450
Otsego County Judicial Administration
800 Livingston Blvd., Suite 3-B
Gaylord, Michigan 49735
Phone: 989-731-0228

Otsego County Judges and Administrator

Hon. George J. Mertz – Circuit Court, Chief Judge

Hon. Colin G. Hunter – Circuit Court Judge, Pro Tem

Hon. Michael K. Cooper – District and Probate Court Chief Judge

Victoria Courterier – Court Administrator/Magistrate

Local Weather
Partly Cloudy
Feels like: 48°F
Wind: 7mph N
Humidity: 38%
Pressure: 30.38"Hg
UV index: 5