Northeast Michigan Council of Governments

80 Livingston Blvd. – Suite 8
P.O. Box 457
Gaylord, MI 49734
Phone: (989) 705-3730
Fax: (989) 705-3734

 Diane Rekowski, Director (989)705-3734  

Mission Statement:

NEMCOG is committed to facilitating the development of intergovernmental cooperation and coordination within the eight-county region of Northeast Michigan.

The agency is also committed to providing for a controlled growth policy; to preserve and improve the environment, to pursue greater efficiency and responsiveness of local units of government, and to improve the ecological, social, and economic well being of citizens within the region.

Member Governments

Member Counties: Alcona, Alpena, Cheboygan, Crawford, Emmet, Montmorency, Oscoda, Otsego, and Presque Isle

Member Cities and Villages: Alpena, Cheboygan, Gaylord, Grayling, Harrisville, Hillman, Lincoln, Mackinaw City, Onaway and Rogers City

Member Townships: Albert, Alcona, Alpena, Bearinger Caledonia, Curtis, Grayling, Green, Maple Forest, Mitchell, South Branch, Tuscarora and Wilson